The longlists for two of the most prestigious prizes in writing and illustrating for children are announced today. Awarded annually by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, the CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book for children and young people, while the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book in terms of illustration for children and young people.

The longlist for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2013 includes Anne Fine, who would be the first ever author to win the CILIP Carnegie Medal three times if Trouble in Toadpool triumphs. She is joined on the longlist by previous winners Melvin Burgess, Frank Cottrell Boyce, David Almond, Philip Reeve, Theresa Breslin, Kevin Crossley-Holland, Robert Swindells and Aidan Chambers who, if they win again, will join a seven-strong group of authors have been awarded the Medal twice - including last year's winner, Patrick Ness. The 2013 longlist also includes a rare double nomination - for Sally Gardner's Maggot Moon and The Double Shadow. Winners of the CILIP Carnegie Medal over the past eight decades reads like a who's who of the best children's writers in the past century including Meg Rosoff, Neil Gaiman, C.S. Lewis, Philip Pullman and Geraldine McCaughrean.

This year's CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal longlist includes previous winners Anthony Browne, Bob Graham, Mini Grey, Michael Foreman, Helen Oxenbury and Emily Gravett. Gravett, who triumphed in 2008 with Little Mouse's Big Book of Fears and in 2005 with Wolves, is nominated twice on the longlist this year as are Emma Chichester Clarke, Tony Ross, Alex T. Smith and Alexis Deacon. Oliver Jeffers, who's made it to the shortlist four times but not yet won the Medal, makes it a hat-trick of nominations on this year's longlist with The Hueys in The New Jumper, Stuck and This Moose Belongs to Me. Previous winners of the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal over the years include Raymond Briggs, Shirley Hughes, Quentin Blake, Janet Ahlberg, Alan Lee and Lauren Child.

The shortlist will be announced on 19th March 2013. The winners for The CILIP Carnegie Medal and the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal will be announced on 19th June 2013 at a ceremony in London.