The Margaret Mahy Treasury & CD

Otago Daily Times


Eleven favourite stories from the late, great Margaret Mahy. Includes a CD of Margaret reading her favourite stories. Enjoyed by children of all ages!
Price: NZ$49.95

Margaret Mahy wrote many of New Zealand’s most loved children’s stories. Her imagination knew no bounds, her characters burst with life and exuberance, her language is magical and her sense of humour priceless.
In the years before Margaret Mahy died she recorded audio versions of her reading some of her best loved books including The Boy Who Was Followed Home, The Boy With Two Shadows, Jam, A Summery Saturday Morning, The Three Legged Cat and The Witch in the Cherry Tree . These recordings are reproduced on the CD included.
This treasury contains eleven favourite Mahy stories.
  • A Lion in the Meadow
  • The Witch in the Cherry Tree
  • A Summery Saturday Morning
  • The Great Piratical Rumbustification
  • The Boy with Two Shadows
  • The Great White Man-Eating Shark
  • Jam
  • The Three-Legged Cat
  • The Boy who was Followed Home
  • The Librarian and the Robbers
  • The Man Whose Mother was a Pirate
These beautifully illustrated stories are childhood essentials.
Hardcover, 256 pages, 28.5 x 21.5cm / 11¼ x 8½ inches. Includes CD.
Published by Penguin, 2012.