Applications are now open for the 2013 Creative New Zealand Michael King Writers’ Fellowship, worth $100,000.
Open to established writers who have already published a significant body of work, the fellowship will be awarded for a significant project that will take two years or more to complete. 
Previous recipients of the fellowship are Owen Marshall, Vincent O’Sullivan, C.K. Stead, Rachel Barrowman, Neville Peat, Dame Fiona Kidman, Philip Simpson, Kate De Goldi, Peter Wells and Dr Peter Simpson.
Creative New Zealand’s literary genre priorities include autobiography/memoir, biography, children’s fiction, creative non-fiction, essays, fiction, graphic novels with a strong literary element, histories, literary criticism, narrative non-fiction and poetry.
The Fellowship was offered for the first time in 2003, and was renamed in recognition of the late Dr Michael King for his contribution to literature and his role in advocating for a major fellowship for New Zealand writers.

Applications close at 5pm on Friday 8 March 2013.
For further information on how to apply go to: